Formula E, Motorsport

Formula E – Long Beach – Piquet Jr Becomes Sixth Different Winner

7 Apr , 2015  

Experian Autocheck

Formula E - Long Beach - Piquet Jr Podium

35 years ago, Nelson Piquet Sr took his first ever Formula 1 win at the 1980 United States West Grand Prix.

So it was poignant win for Nelson Piquet Jr, taking his first Formula E victory at the very same circuit.

Sebastien Buemi initially qualified on provisional pole position but was later penalised for exceeding maximum power usage whilst qualifying. He then started down the grid in 10th. Daniel Abt was then on pole for the start of the race.

Formula E - Long Beach - Start

Nelson Piquet Jr. soon abolished Daniel Abt’s lead as he pipped ahead into the first corner after starting 3rd.

Scott Speed heavily clipped the wall after the first chicane on lap 4 which brought out the safety car.

Soon after the restart, Charles Pic took a desperate lunge into the final hairpin, t-boning Jarno Trulli. This collision brought out the safety car again.

There was a bit a nudging going on with Prost punting into the back of d’Ambrosio and Duran came together a bit with Duval but both manage to carry on with the race

Piquet Jr was able to retain his lead after pitting. Jean-Eric Vergne found himself 2nd. Daniel Abt was then given a drive-through penalty for exceeding maximum power usage.

Formula E - Long Beach - Abt

With this, Daniel Abt’s teammate Lucas Di Grassi moved up to 3rd.

Piquet Jr lead comfortably becoming the sixth different winner in as many races and finally giving China Racing their first win.

Lucas Di Grassi now retakes the lead in the driver’s championship as Nico Prost was given a drive-through penalty for his incident with Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Formula E action returns next month on the 9th May at Monaco.

Formula E - Long Beach - Podium