Motorsport, WEC

Lotus drop out as final Le Mans 2014 entry list announced

20 May , 2014  

Lotus T129 - carwitter

The ACO have announced the final entry list for next month’s Le Mans 24 Hours with Lotus forced to withdraw their entry from LMP1.

The new T129 had failed to appear at either of the opening rounds of the World Endurance Championship and despite working with the ACO to find a solution they were forced to admit defeat in their battle to make the grid for the classic enduro.

They will be replaced by the #22 Millennium racing car piloted by Fabian Giroix, John Martin and Oliver Turvey.

The Delta-ADR run squad had withdrawn it’s pair of Oreca 03-Nissans just weeks ago but were invited to return by the ACO after the Lotus pullout.

The Kodewa run Lotus T129 has still not been homologated to the rules, leaving the team run by former HRT boss Colin Kolles no choice but to withdraw.

Kodewa will continue to develop the car through 2014 and hope to return for the later rounds of the WEC.

WEC Prologue Paul Ricard - carwitter

Meanwhile AF Corse have announced that Giancarlo Fisichella and Olivier Beretta will again appear for the Italian team at Le Mans.

Former F1 race winner Fisichella will join Toni Vilander and Gianmaria Bruni in the lead Pro car while Beretta will team up with GP2 refugees James Calado and Davide Rigon in the other Pro car.

The teams will now ramp up their preparations before the traditional test day on June 1.

FIA WEC preview  - carwitter

By  -