WEC Ferrari 51 carwitter 700x432 - WEC 2014 – Spa – Toyota clinch victory - WEC 2014 – Spa – Toyota clinch victory

Motorsport, WEC

WEC 2014 – Spa – Toyota clinch victory

8 May , 2014  

WEC Spa - carwitter

Toyota surged to victory in a thrilling Spa six hours to make it two World Endurance Championship wins out of two.

The trio of Anthony Davidson, Sebastian Buemi and Nicolas Lapierre led the race in the #8 car from the second hour after leapfrogging the pole sitting Porsche 919.

WEC Podium - carwitter

After both Porsches hit trouble the TS040 was able to take the victory by over a minute following a stunning mid-race stint from Davidson.

Buemi had taken the lead when Toyota opted not to take tyres at their second stop while Neel Jani handed over the #14 Porsche to Marc Leib with fresh rubber.

A dominating stint from Davidison, who took over the car from Buemi, pushed the Toyota into a proper lead before the Porsche suddenly slowed with two-and-a-half hours to go.

With Dumas at the wheel the 919 juddered and slowed before trundling around the track for over a lap as Porsche engineers attempted to talk the Frenchman through a full reset of the electrical systems.

Part way round the second slow lap he was able to complete the complex hybrid-reset and the car sprung back to life – but by this time the race was lost.

WEC Radillion  - carwitter

Behind them the battle for second raged between the #1 Audi shared by world champions Loic Duval and Tom Kristensen with former F1 ace Lucas Di Grassi and the second Toyota.

The Audis had struggled all race for speed, but as the track cooled and the race pace slowed they came to the fore, taking advantage of the problems hit by the cars from Weissach.

A strong drive from Duval saw the R18 overcome a hard charging Stephan Sarrizan in the second Toyota, which had fallen back while attempting to double-stint it’s Michelins, to claim the runner-up spot.

WEC start  - carwitter

A promising race for the Porsches had turned to a nightmare not long after the start when the #20 car damaged it’s front suspension on the curbs exiting Blanchimont.

Numerous visits to the pit lane resulted in a 23rd place finish for Bredan Hartley, Mark Webber and Timo Bernhard.

WEC Podium P2 - carwitter

In P2 the Oak run G-Drive Morgan racing took a second consecutive class win after a commanding performance saw them finish over a minute clear of the second place battle.

Behind them the Jota Sport Zytek-Nissan of Harry Tincknell, Simon Dolan and Audi loanee Mark Gene overcame a strong challenge from the KCMG Oreca to finish second on it’s one-off WEC entry before the Le Mans 24 hours.

The pole-sitting car of Richard Bradley, Matt Howson and Alexandre Imperatori started strongly, but struggled after an early collision damaged dive-planes on the front of the car.

WEC Ferrari 51 - carwitter

In GT AF Corse took a double victory after fighting off Porsche in the Pro class and dominating the Am race.

Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander were able to turn their pole position in the #51 into a lap advantage by the end of the six hours, but behind them the finish was far from certain.

The #71 sister 458 had been on course for a second place finish only for Davide Rigon to be hunted down by the #91 911 RSR piloted by Patrick Pilet.

Rigon was able to hold off the hard-charging Frenchman for two laps but as his tyres deteriorated he oversteered wide at Rivage allowing the Porsche through.

Pilet was able to stretch the legs of the 911 he was sharing with Joerg Bergmeister for a second consecutive runner-up spot while Rigon and team-mate James Colado were forced to settle for third.

WEC Ferrari 61 - carwitter

In the Am class the 458 of Marco Cioci, Mirko Venturi and Luis Perez-Companc won after trading the lead with the the pair of AMR Vantages.

The #61 eventually came out on top 32.241 seconds clear of the #95 Young Driver Aston of Richie Stanaway, David Heinemeier Hansson and Kristian Poulsen.

Stanaway, substituting for the busy Nicki Thim, overtook the #98 AMR Vantage with only a handful of laps remaining leaving Christoffer Nygaard, Pedro Lamy and Paul Dalla Lana to settle for third.

WEC G-Drive  - carwitter

WEC Jota  - carwitter

By  -